V.L.Locey ”Shake the stars”

shake the starsThis was my first V.L.Locey book outside of Harrisbourg railers series. I was interested, because i liked HR series and i wanted to see what she writes outside it and sports romances. This time it’s a story about summer which changed lifes…

Spending his summer with family was not Dane’s plan. His plan would be to tour the Europe and maybe even find first love in Paris. Or Italy. But here he was – with his family and thinking that his dreams of romance will not come true. But then he meets lifeguard Khalid. And just like that – summer is not as hopeless and not-romantic as Dane thought it will be. But summer can’t go forever. It’s followed by autumn. Can this summer romance survive autumn and time? Or will it be just one beautiful summer that ends with heartbreak and no future? Or maybe even after ending… there will be a new beginning and a second chance?

This is a story about first love and everything that comes with that. That includes heartbreak. And leads to second chances. So, if you are a person who likes stories about first love and second chances – try this book. And this story is wrapped up in that nostalgic feeling. Maybe it was just me, but it made me think about my first love, about past, about summers… and things that are over for a long time. I was not in love with this book from the first page. I can’t explain why but it took a bit time for me to read into it… but when i did – i was rooting for main couple. There was that beautiful vibe of falling in love for the first time. And also there was a sad part, which is also, unfortunately a pretty real part for a lot of teens in real life – what happens when you come out to your parents. There are those amazing cases when nothing changes and they are supportive(in my opinion, this should be not ”amazing case” but just the normal one). But then there are those cases when they both(or one of the parents) are not supportive.

For me, personally, references to Dirty dancing are annoying. It’s nothing personal against this author or any other author who uses these references. I just am tired of that movie always mentioned everywhere. Yes, it’s classic or whatever but sometimes it makes me feel like that is the only movie made in the history of the cinema and the world. Nothing else exist. Also there were some details which were kinda not believable for me or made me question some things, but i decided to not go too much into it and not pick it apart. Because… for me this was not the book where i felt like i need to pick everything apart and write essay about my questions. In the end – those questions were just in my mind and were not changing the plot or something.

Anyway, it’s summer and this book belongs in summer reads. For me it didn’t feel very fast paced(specially at the beginning), but not all books need to be fast paced. It was a nice read. Made me remember my own first love and made me root for these two young men and their journey from summer romance to real, deep love and second chance. It shows mistakes and how first love isn’t always just rainbows and everything easy. Characters made mistakes and grew… Anyway – i liked this book 🙂

 

Posted in m/m

Leave a comment