Garrett Leigh ”Fated Hearts”

67283455_2401506443270930_1027755549032185856_oNot my first year or month reading m/m books. But that time finally came – my first shifters m/m. I was not sure i’m interested in that kind of book, so i stayed away from shifters. And werewolves. And also from aliens or some stuff like that. Until now. But – it’s Garrett Leigh. If she will write about aliens – i will read it. I will read everything she will write, because i love her style and her books. Her characters have souls. So, today about my first shifters/paranormal m/m book – ”Fated hearts” by Garrett Leigh.

Main characters of this book are Zio and Devan. Zio is a warrior who just lost his best friend in this big, paranormal war. He wants revenge. Devan is Zio’s pack’s new healer. And Zio is not happy. First – Devan is shifter of different species. Not a wolf. And also – they met before… and did things… that Zio can’t forget anymore. But Devan is sent here to help, to be a healer and he is not going to just give up and go back, just because Zio is not happy to see him. And there is also more than one bond that can form between shifters. Unfortunately, the one which forms between Zio and Devan can bring big consequences in war. So they try to stay away, not to form that bond completely… but you can’t ignore something that true and that strong for a long…

So, no aliens – only shifters. Not werewolves. Shape shifters. So, still pack, but no full moon etc. And a war. I read this book in one day. And i was at work. I was half reading, half working. That was not the plan, but i don’t work with clients eye to eye or something(i do a lot of paperwork), so no one could complain. I started to read this book on my way to work and couldn’t stop. I had to know how this story ends and i fell in love with Devan. It doesn’t mean that i didn’t like Zio. I liked him. But Devan… i fell in love with him, his soul and how he was written as a healer. He had that… calm vibe. I can’t explain it. When i read books sometimes characters just have specific… vibe. It’s not just one thing, but the way how that character is written as a whole.

I was rooting for these characters so much. And for that bond. Believe me, i was half in the book and was like – if they will not end up together and bonded, i will riot. Paranormal war be damned – they love each other so much, they deserve to be happy and together. One of the details i liked a lot, was Devon’s and Zio’s different opinion about what to do with injured enemy wolves who were left behind. Their opinions about that were opposite but suited their characters. It wouldn’t be realistic, if at that point Zio would think the same as Devon. Or if Devon, as healer, would think as Zio… Devon had that warm and calming presence and his opinion went perfectly with his character.

War and fighting stuff was intense. As it should be. But in this book Garrett Leigh got that good balance between war and fight and also bond and relationship. There it was in balance. I’m saying this because she also has a book ”Cash”. It is a different type of book, plot etc but in that book i felt that fighting and planning fights got way too much time and relationship development – much less, so i personally didn’t click with characters and their relationship. I could talk about fight plans, but didn’t felt their connection forming that much. But in this one – yes, war, fights, plans, deaths… but also i felt that connection between main characters forming, i saw them falling for each other, i got to see that progress in a relationship. It was in a very good balance and i liked it a lot.

I liked other characters from the pack too. Like Danielo, Bomber, Michael and Gale. They were good background characters and also a bit grew on me(i didn’t want any of them to die or to get hurt.). And i kinda hope to see more of them. Like Danielo and that doctor… i would like to read that story(okay, i don’t even know if there is a story, i’m just letting my imagination run wild after last chapter :D). I liked that in ebook i got, there was a link to short story ”Shadow bound” where i read about Dash and Luca. They are in this book too, so i wanted to know more about them.

Overall – loved this book. I read it as ebook, but i already bought myself a paper copy(now i just have to wait, to get it), because i wanted this on my actual bookshelf. Also – cover is so beautiful. This is my first paranormal m/m book, so i don’t have anything to compare this with, but… i really liked it. Shifting was not weird or kinky as i thought it maybe can be(that was one of the reasons why i stayed away from these books for so long – i was a bit afraid that it will somehow go… the weird way…and that i’m not ready for that). It was good, a bit intense. It had great main characters and a big love. I recommend this 🙂

Posted in m/m

Leave a comment