Garrett Leigh ”Falling for my roommate”

Copy of 81435772_2745490995539138_8921114619636875264_oYes, another Garrett Leigh book. I am not in a mood for experiments right now and am kinda lost, so i chose to read(and re-read) my favorite books or new books from my favorite authors. That makes me feel better. So – yes, another Garrett Leigh book. Not a re-read. A new book – Falling for my roommate.

Micah is ex-football player with with a bum leg and PTSD. His career went up in flames so he moved in with Sam, who works in a bar and loves reading. Time went on and they became best friends. And then… fell for each other. And you know how those stories go – both are in love with each other but thins that the other one doesn’t feel the same. And then when they confess their feelings, you would think that finally – there is that happy ending. Yeah… not so much, because for them… that’s the moment when real problems begins. Will they be strong enough to get through everything and stay together?

I feel so bad writing this, because i love Garrett Leigh, but this book… was not my favourite. Last time i felt similar, was when i read ”Cash”. That one was a miss for me. But for different reasons than this one. I know that i didn’t connect with this one, because i was annoyed with the lack of communication between main characters. Half of their dramas and problems could have been avoided if they just talked to each other. No one said that those talks wold be easy. No. But they could avoid dramas just by talking. I felt bad for Sam at some moments because of Micah’s attitude and how he didn’t say anything to Sam. Sam is not a mind reader. Also, and this thing is something that annoys me in real life too – i hate when people ignore messages. And by that i don’t mean – read and don’t answer. No. I mean – just deleting e-mails, whatsapp messages, voicemails without even reading/hearing them. It is so disrespectful in my opinion and just, sorry – stupid. Maybe that e-mail contained important information. No one forces you to write back, but you should at least read it. But no… Micah doesn’t give a rats ass. He just deletes it. Come on.

I really liked that small bit with Dom. I just loved Dom and Lucky in their book, so i’m always happy to ”meet” them again. And i really liked Sam. He was a nice guy with good heart. Also there was something so nice about his family. I just liked it all. And i googled how to make feijoada :).

”I sunk into the mattress like cat piss on a brand-new couch.”

This is the best quote i’ve read for a while. Just… the best :D:D:D

Anyway, i didn’t connect with this book as much as i’ve connected with other GL books in the past… but it doesn’t mean that you should skip it. Specially if you are a fan of Garrett, or you like this ”falling for roommate” trope. Read it. Maybe you will really love it. It still has Garrett’s signature writing style and it’s not a boring book. So – check it out and see what you think about it :).

Leave a comment